top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalyani Laddu-Javadekar

Seriously Hilarious….

Barely an hour after getting his air ticket booked for the next month, my dad succumbed to a heart attack. After we had recovered from the shock (partially), I decided to get his ticket cancelled and claim the refund. Unfortunately, the cancellation policy of the airline concerned did not provide any refunds, but only an open ticket for the passenger. Since they had no policy specified in case of the passenger's death, I decided to speak to their customer care associates after a series of failed e-mails. The conversation that followed was hilarious (and painful)*:

Me: Hi, further to our emails, I would like to request for a cancellation/refund on my dad’s ticket, in the wake of his sudden demise.


Customer Care: We are sorry, Madam, but we can refund the money only if your dad submits the request.

Me: But this is a different case, wherein I am making the request on behalf of my deceased father. Please could you do the needful.

Customer Care Scare: Sorry Madam, we have a protocol. Your father will have to come in person.

Me (totally losing my temper): I would not be wasting my time talking to you had my father been here. And I would so love it if he could come all the way back! Don’t you understand the terms “demise” and “deceased”????

Customer SCare: We do understand, Madam. But we are sorry, your father will have to be here.

I slammed the phone down. Huh! Would I even be requesting for a refund had he been around?

Luckily, I managed to get access to one of the top authorities; the amount was eventually refunded.


*: Hilarious now; painful then!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

FUN INTENDED!!! :D

No head no ache No quake no shake No tongue no taste No bun no waist No punch no crunch No teeth no munch No ear no hear No sense no fear No light no sight No feet no flight No pain no gain No neck no

The Trajectory...

I love what I do and hence I am living a life I don't need to take a vacation from! 😊 Yes, precisely!! It hasn’t been easy trying to find out what I wanted to do in life. With a Masters in Dietetics,

As I like it!

As I like it... “All the world’s a stage, and all men and women are merely players…” so goes the famous poem. Theater it is. The stage, the spots/lights, the curtains excite me. Being a part of theate

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page